
TRANSFERRING      NEW            REGISTERED SERVICE AGENCY EMPOYING APPLICANT                  BUSINESS ID No.:______________     

 

NEW (never certified in Virginia)     REACTIVATING                                     TECHNICIAN NO.: _______________________ 
 VDACS PERMIT NO.: _________________________ 

           NAME CHANGE ADDRESS CHANGE         NEW EMAIL           Other__________________  

TECHNICIAN NAME:  
HOME ADDRESS:  
CITY:  STATE:  ZIP CODE:  
TELEPHONE:  EMAIL:  

 

COMPANY NAME:  

MAILING ADDRESS:  

CITY:  STATE:  ZIP CODE:  

TELEPHONE:  FAX:  

CONTACT PERSON:  EMAIL:  

BRANCH OR WORK LOCATION OF EMPLOYEE (if different from above) 

ADDRESS:  

CITY:  STATE:  ZIP CODE:  

TELEPHONE:  FAX:  

CONTACT PERSON:  EMAIL:  
As required by Va. Code § 3.2-5707(B)(6) :     

I declare under penalty of perjury that I have the authority to be lawfully employed in the United States.   
YES ☐      NO ☐ 

Proof of COMPLETION OF TRAINING COURSE - Certificate of Completion, as required (attached): 
YES ☐       NO ☐    
    METERS:     SCALES:    

POSITION OF WORK BUSINESS TYPE DEVICE CLASS 
____  SALES (registra�on required only) ____  MOTOR FUEL DISPENSERS ____  SMALL CAPACITY SCALES       (1,000 LBS OR LESS) 
____  SERVICE ____  VEHICLE TANK METERS ____  LARGE CAPACITY SCALES        (OVER 1, 000 LBS) 
____  BOTH ____  LP GAS METERS ____  RAILROAD TRACK OR BELT CONVEYOR 

 ____  BULK METERS  
____  INSTALLATION SERVICES (EVSE) 
 

____  ELECTRIC VEHICLE SUPPLY EQUIPMENT (EVSE) 
 

SIGNATURE:  DATE:  

PRINT NAME:  

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES 
DIVISION OF CONSUMER PROTECTION 
OFFICE OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES 

102 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219 
Phone: (804) 786-2476    Fax: (804) 786-1571    www.vdacs.virginia.gov 

 
 APPLICATION FOR WEIGHTS AND MEASURES SERVICE TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION 

(PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE) 

  

EXEMPT FROM FEES (Va. Code §3.2-5705): YES ☐  NO ☐ 
If NON-Exempt, each service technician shall pay a registration fee of $25 made payable TREASURER OF VIRGINIA 
 
SIGN AND RETURN THIS APPLICATION ALONG WITH YOUR PAYMENT TO THE ADDRESS AT THE TOP OF THIS FORM. 
 

The Commissioner may deny, suspend, or revoke any registration or renewal if the application is incomplete, false, or fraudulent. It shall be a violation of this chapter for a 
person to submit to the Commissioner an application for registration or renewal that he knows to be false or fraudulent. 

Office Use ONLY: REV 301-860-02-552-12-02205 

 

Revised 3.2024 

    

https://covgov-my.sharepoint.com/personal/felicia_shelton_vdacs_virginia_gov/Documents/Documents/SERVICE%20AGENCIES%20&%20TECHNICIANS%20PROGRAM/LAWS/Chapter%2057.%20Weights%20and%20Measures%20Service%20Agencies%20and%20Technicians%20Law.pdf
http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/


VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES 
DIVISION OF CONSUMER PROTECTION 
OFFICE OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES 

102 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219 
Phone: (804) 786-2476    Fax: (804) 786-1571    www.vdacs.virginia.gov 

   Revised 3.2024 
  
 

ACCESSING THE ONLINE SERVICE TECHNICIAN TRAINING WITH AN ACCOUNT  
 

1. Enter https://covlc.virginia.gov/Default.aspx in your web browser and log-in to the Commonwealth of Virginia Learning 

Center.   

2. Once you have accessed the Virginia Learning Center, click on the “Catalog” button at the top of the screen.  Type 

“service technician” in the search for box and click “search”.   

3. The first two results that should come up are “Service Technician Meter Training – Office of Weights and Measures” and 

“Service Technician Scale Training – Office of Weights and Measures”.  Please select the appropriate training for your 

field of work.  You may need to take both. (NOTE: If the current year is not available, you may take “any year” training for 

certification.) 

4. You will then see a screen with a blue button that says “START” under or beside the title of the course.  Click that 

“START” button and “LAUNCH” the training.   

5. A separate window will appear and there will be two columns.  In the left-hand column, you will see the title of the 

course.  Double click this title.  The course will then appear in the right-hand column.   

6. Take the course by scrolling through the slides using the “previous” and “next” buttons.  Make sure you pay close attention 

to the items in red. 

7. At the end of the course there will be a 10-question quiz.  You must score at least an 80% to pass the course.  Once complete, 

click the “Finish” button.  Once done you may exit the course by clicking the “x” in the top right-hand corner.   

8. A screen will appear with a message that you have completed the item.  Make sure you click “View Certificate” and print 

the certificate out.  You must print the certificate and send in a copy with your application.   
 
 

FIRST TIME USERS AND/OR LOST CREDENTIALS 
 

1. If you are a first time user of the system, please send your first and last name along with your email address to 

owm@vdacs.virginia.gov, and request that an account be created for you to take the technician training.  

2. If you have lost your log-in credentials, please send your first and last name along with your email address to 

owm@vdacs.virginia.gov and request a password reset.  

3. You will receive an email from the COV Learning Center to the email address you provide to us for account activation 

and/or password reset. 

4. After receiving this email, please follow the instructions above (“Accessing The Online Service Technician Training with 

an Account”) to take the training. 

 

 

http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/
https://covlc.virginia.gov/Default.aspx
mailto:owm@vdacs.virginia.gov
mailto:owm@vdacs.virginia.gov

