VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES OFFICE OF PLANT INDUSTRY SERVICES

102 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219 Phone: (804) 786-3544 · Fax: (804) 786-1571 · www.vdacs.virginia.gov

Revised March 2009

Who needs a Lime License?

Manufacturer/Distributor

Each person who manufactures or whose name appears on the label of any liming material to be distributed in the Commonwealth shall obtain license prior to distribution of such liming material. The license year for all distributors and manufacturers is July 1 through June 30 of the following year. The license fee is \$50.00 per year.

Contractor/Applicator

Any person or company desiring to become a <u>contractor</u> as defined in Section 3.2-3700 of the Agricultural Liming Materials Law shall obtain a permit to do business in the Commonwealth before engaging in such business. This lime permit is combined with the Fertilizer Contractor/Applicator permit, thus permitting a person or company to apply both fertilizer and lime. The contractor shall guarantee compliance with all provisions of *Title 3.2, Chapter 37* of the Code of Virginia (1950), as amended, which apply to the sale and delivery of bulk liming material. The license year is January 1 through December 31.

What Lime Products need to be registered?

Agricultural Liming Product

Any distributor of agricultural liming material in the Commonwealth of Virginia shall register each brand of agricultural liming material before distributing in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Industrial Co-Product

Any distributor of any brand of industrial co-product used to neutralize soil acid shall register each brand of industrial co-product before distributing in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Each distributor shall submit test data indicating the product's neutralizing value and its safety to plants and animals.

Filing Instructions for Lime License and Products

The following documents are required for Lime Licensing and Product Registration:

- 1. Completed Lime License or Permit Application
- 2. \$50.00 fee for Lime License/Permit Application
- 3. Completed Lime Product Registration Application
- 4. \$50.00 for each Agricultural Liming Product; \$100.00 for each Industrial Co-Product
- 5. Labels for each product to be registered

Who pays Lime Inspection fees?

By August 1 of each year, each person who distributes liming material to a non-licensed person shall submit a tonnage report for the reporting year July 1 through June 30 of each year indicating the number of tons of each liming material sold by the distributor for use in Virginia. An additional report that shows the breakdown by county of where the liming material was sold is also required. Each person distributing liming material in Virginia to a non-licensed person shall pay an inspection fee of thirty-five dollars or five cents per ton of liming material, whichever is greater.

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES OFFICE OF PLANT INDUSTRY SERVICES

102 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219 Phone: (804) 786-3544- Fax: (804) 786-1571 · <u>www.vdacs.virginia.gov</u>

Revised March 2009

VIRGINIA LIME LICENSE APPLICATION

Business Name:								
Street Address:								
City:	State:	Zip:						
Federal Identification/Tax Number:								
Phone (including area code):	Fax (including area code):							
Contact Name:	Title:							
E-Mail address:								
APPLICATION FEE: \$50.00	COST CODE: 885-02214							
RENEWABLE ANNUALLY BY JUNE 30								
ATTENTION:								
The <i>Virginia Agricultural Liming Materials Law</i> requires the Commonwealth shall annually register each brand of agruch material within Virginia.								
There is a fee for registration of products in addition to the \$ registration form for your products. Fees are: \$50.00 per planclude a label for all products you wish to register.								
I certify that I understand my legal responsibilities and shall Virginia Agricultural Liming Materials Law.	guarantee compliance with a	II provisions of the						
Signature:	Date:							
The above named party makes application for this license a and regulations. Make checks payable to Treasurer of Virg		applicable laws, rules						

Completed application and \$50.00 license fee should be sent to:

Virginia Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
PO Box 526
Richmond, Virginia 23218-0526

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES OFFICE OF PLANT INDUSTRY SERVICES

102 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219 Phone: (804) 786-3544 · Fax: (804) 786-1571 · <u>www.vdacs.virginia.gov</u>

Revised March 2009

APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION OF AGRICULTURAL LIMING MATERIAL

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PROVISIONS AND REQUIREMENTS OF THE VIRGINIA AGRICULTURAL LIMING MATERIALS LAW.

NAME OF MANUFACTURER/DISTRIBUTOR:

ADDRESS:

APPLICATION IS HEREBY MADE FOR THE REGISTRATION OF AGRICULTURAL LIMING MATERIALS TO BE SOLD, OFFERED AND EXPOSED FOR SALE IN THE

CITY:				STAT	E <u>:</u>			ZIP:		
TELEPHONE :	F	λΧ <u>:</u>								
PLANT'S PHYSICAL ADDRESS:										
City:				STAT	E <u>:</u>			ZIP:_		
CONTACT NAME::			TITLE:							
E-Mail:										
					_					
SIGNATURE					D/	ATE				
PRODUCT NAME USE ADDITIONAL SHEETS AS NEEDED ATTACH LABEL FOR ALL PRODUCTS	TYPE*	CAL OXIDE (%)	MAG OXIDE (%)	CAL CARB (%)	MAG CARB (%)	AVAIL POTASH	EFF. NEUT. VALUE (%)	CAL. CARB. EQUIV. (%)	Min. Mesh Screen	PERCENT PASSING
									20	l
									60	l
									100	
									20	
	1								60	
	1								100	
									20	
									60	
									100	
									20	·
	7								60	·
									100	
Tres on Lympa Manney, D. Dolovine, O. Ovorro, M. Man	<u> </u>	 		<u> </u>		O - D				

*Type of Liming Material: D-Dolomitic, C-Calcitic, M-Marl, B-Burnt, H-Hydrated, I-Industrial Co-Product, or O-Other.

Completed application and fees (\$50/ea – Lime Products or \$100/ea – Industrial Co-Products) should be sent to:

Virginia Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
PO Box 526
Richmond, Virginia 23218-0526

Finance: 885-02204 Registrant No: