VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES **OFFICE OF PESTICIDE SERVICES**

P. O. Box 526 • Richmond, VA 23218 Phone: (804) 371-0152 • Fax: (804) 786-9149 • www.vdacs.virginia.gov

APPLICATION FOR RECIPROCAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR CERTIFICATE

CA-R (SEE PAGES 2 AND 3 FOR INSTRUCTIONS AND DEFINITIONS)

In accordance with the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, application is hereby made for CERTIFICATION as a COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR under the Reciprocal Agreement between the Commonwealth of Virginia and the State . All certificates must be renewed by June 30th of the year provided on the certificate. of

(State you are certified in)	_	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,		-
application, check, cor	pplication fee is \$100.00. Ma by of your out-of-state lice mployees are exempt from the	nse and other requi			
· ·	SIRED: (check <u>only one</u> appi		ıl (N)	☐ Government	Employee (G)
Please type or print the	e following information:	E-MAIL ADDRI	ESS:		
Social Security # (REQUIR	:ED):	HOME PHO	ONE:		
APPLICANT'S NAME:	(Last)	(First)	(M.I.)	DOB :/_	/
MAILING ADDRESS:	(Street or RFD)		HOME ST	TATE CERT #	
CITY:	(classical rat 2)	STATE:	ZIP CODE:		
EMPLOYED BY (NAME O	F BUSINESS):				
VA. PESTICIDE BUSINESS LICENSE #:		BL	JSINESS PHONE #	;	
BUSINESS ADDRESS:	(Street or RFD)		(0): 0: -7!		
			(City, State, Zip)		
I request to obtain the	following VA categories the	rough Reciprocity	with the State of	: (State you are cer	tified in)
CATEGORY #	CATEGORY TITLE	CATEGOR	RY # C	ATEGORY TITLE	
(1)					
(See page 2 for VA applic	cator categories)	(')			
certification. I further ce performance of my job,	that I am the person applying ertify that I have been traine and I agree to abide by all la age of 18, and eligible for pe	ed in the specific ski	ills necessary to posticide	properly apply pe e usage in Virgini	sticides in the
(Signature of Applicant)				(Date)	
FOR DEPARTMENT U	ISE ONLY:		АМО	OUNT TO REMIT:	\$ 100.00
Date Issued:				DACS ACCT:	756-09-02656
Keved Bv:			VD.	ACS-07210	05/19

VA COMMERCIAL PESTICIDE APPLICATOR CATEGORIES

Category #	Category Title
1-A	Agricultural Plant Pest Control
1-B	Agricultural Animal Pest Control
1-C	Fumigation - Soil/Ag Products
1-D	Chemigation
2	Forest Pest Control
3-A	Ornamental Pest Control
3-B	Turf Pest Control
4	**Seed Treatment
5-A	Aquatic Pest Control-General
5-B	Marine Antifoulant Paint
6	Right-Of-Way Pest Control
7-A	**General Pest Control (including food processing)
7-B	**Wood Destroying Pest Control
7-C	Fumigation (Non-Agricultural)
7-D	Vertebrate Pest Control (excluding structural invaders)
7-E	Sewer Root Pest Control
8	Public Health Pest Control
9	Regulatory Pest Control
10	Demonstration and Research Pest Control
11	Aerial Pesticide Application
12	Wood Preservation

^{**} excluding fumigation

Definitions:

Commercial applicator means any applicator who has completed the requirements as determined by the board, including appropriate training and time in service, to apply for a certification, and who uses or supervises the use of any pesticide for any purpose or on any property other than as provided in the definition of private applicator.

Commercial applicator not for hire means any commercial applicator who uses or supervises the use of pesticides as part of his job duties only on property owned or leased by him or his employer. This definition shall also apply to governmental employees who use or supervise the use of pesticides, whether on property owned or leased by them or their employers or not, in the performance of their official duties.

Renewal is required biennially by June 30th of the year indicated on your certificate. This is accomplished by submitting a commercial renewal application before the expiration date listed on the applicator's certificate. As a reciprocal Commercial Applicator, you will need to present your home's states unexpired certificate each time you renew your Virginia Certificate.

Recertification is also required biennially. This is accomplished by attendance at a Virginia approved recertification course for each category you wish to maintain, or by re-testing in lieu of attending training courses. You are required to take at least one course in a two year period, but can take enough courses to obtain four years of credit.

INFORMATION FOR RECIPROCAL AGREEMENT PESTICIDE APPLICATOR CERTIFICATION

All Commercial Applicators (CCAs) (with the exception of not-for-hire commercial applicators and government employees) must either obtain, or work for a firm that has obtained a Virginia Pesticide Business License issued by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. This should not be confused with any county or city business license or license from another government agency or state.

Both Recertification and Renewal are required for Applicators to maintain their certificates.

<u>Recertification</u> is required biennially. This is usually accomplished by attending a Virginia approved recertification course. Reciprocal recertification may be granted to out-of-state applicators if they:

- Maintain certification in their home state, AND;
- 2. Provide proof of Virginia recertification credits to the Office of Pesticide Services, OR:
- 3. Provide proof of home-state recertification credits (if the home state grants reciprocal recertification to Virginia applicators) to the Office of Pesticide Services.

Renewal is also required biennially. This is accomplished by submitting a commercial renewal application every other year before the expiration date listed on the applicator's certificate (June 30th).

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING APPLICATION FOR RECIPROCAL COMMERCIAL APPLICATOR CERTIFICATION

- 1. Fill in "Application for Reciprocal Applicator Certificate" completely. Be sure to **sign and date** your application. **The state you are reciprocating from MUST be a state where you tested and passed commercial pesticide applicator examinations. You cannot obtain Virginia reciprocity from a state you reciprocated into from another state.**
- 2. If you are an out-of-state resident and your business address is also out-of-state, you must enclose a <u>completed and notarized Power of Attorney form</u>. Please have your notary use an **ink seal**. If your business has a Resident Agent registered with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, please indicate them on form.
- 3. <u>Enclose a front and back copy of your current state's certificate.</u> Be sure this is an unexpired certificate.
- 4. If you are an aerial applicator, you must submit a copy of your **FAA Certificate**.
- 5. <u>Enclose the fee of \$100.00 for certification</u> made payable to **THE TREASURER OF VIRGINIA**. All fees are non-refundable and non-transferable (Fees are waived for government employees).
- 6. Once you have obtained your certification, you are responsible for maintaining an active certificate through recertification training and renewing your certificate biennially. Your expiration AND recertification deadlines will be displayed on your certificate. It is your responsibility to notify OPS of any mailing address or employer changes to ensure you receive updates on when to recertify and renew. Should your certificate expire for any reason, you will be required to re-take all examinations needed to reinstate your certificate.

If you have further questions or need additional help applying, call our office at (804) 371-0152 or email opsclrt.vdacs@vdacs.virginia.gov.